Paul Martin Retrospective Gallery

                                       Copyright Graeme MacKay. Permission to use or publish images is only granted to those who ask. Please contact.
Graeme MacKay is the Editorial Cartoonist for
Hamilton  -  Ontario  -  Canada
May 16, 2005

Five minority governments were headed by the Liberals, and
three were headed by the Progressive Conservatives.

The last minority government was the PC government of Joe
Clark, elected in 1979.

The longest lasting minority government was the Liberal
government of William Lyon Mackenzie King, that lasted from
December 1921 until October, 1925.

The shortest was the 1957 minority government of PC leader
John Diefenbaker, which lasted just under six months.

In 1926, Mackenzie King became the only prime minister to
form a government with fewer seats than the Opposition.
Between 1957 and 1968, Canada had four minority

The five prime ministers who led minority governments are
Lester B. Pearson (2), Pierre Trudeau, Joe Clark, John
Diefenbaker (2), and William Lyon Mackenzie King (2)